Type of Diversity

Type of Companies                                                          


8(a) Companies

At least a 51% minority owned and operated in accordance to the U.S. Small Business Administration policies.

Disadvantaged Business Enterprise

At least a 51% minority ownership

Service Disabled Veteran Owned Business

In order to be eligible for the SDVOSBC, you and your business must meet the following criteria:

  • The Service Disabled Veteran (SDV) must have a service-connected disability that has been determined by the Department of Veterans Affairs or Department of Defense
  • The SDVOSBC must be small under the North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) code assigned to the procurement
  • The SDV must unconditionally own 51% of the SDVOSBC
  • The SDVO must control the management and daily operations of the SDVOSBC
  • The SDV must hold the highest officer position in the SDVOSBC

Women Owned Small Business (WOSB)

A firm must be at least 51% owned and controlled by one or more women, and primarily managed by one or more women. The women must be U.S. citizens. The firm must be "small" in its primary industry in accordance with SBA's size standards for that industry. In order for a WOSB to be deemed "economically disadvantaged", its owners must demonstrate economic disadvantage in accordance with the requirements set forth in the final rule.

Native (8a) Companies

Business that is at least 51% owned and operated by a Native American individuals with U.S. citizenship.  Native American is the ethnicity of an individuals whose origins are from American Indians, Aleuts, Eskimos and Native Hawaiians.

HUBZone Companies

The Historically Underutilized Business Zones (HUBZone) program helps small businesses in urban and rural communities gain preferential access to federal procurement opportunities. These preferences go to small businesses that obtain HUBZone certification in part by employing staff who live in a HUBZone. The company must also maintain a "principal office" in one of these specially designated areas.

Community Development Corporation (CDC)

In economic and community development there are two types of entities that use the acronym CDC:  Community Development Corporation (CDC), (associated with affordable housing) and 8(a) contracting.  The second CDC is  a SBA Certified Development Company, CDC, (associated with SBA 504 loans assisting small businesses).

Veteran Owned Small Business

A individual that served in any military branch of service and at least 51% owner and operated.